Home / Politics / INEC registers 5 political parties excluding PDP

INEC registers 5 political parties excluding PDP

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has registered five more political parties.

 This was contained in a press statement issued to newsmen in Kaduna on Wednesday and signed by INEC National Commissioner and Chairman Information and Voter Education,

According to the statement, “95 Associations have applied to the Commission for registration as political parties.”

Two of the associations voluntarily withdrew their applications.

To this end, the Commission has approved the applications of five of the associations which have fulfilled the constitutional requirements for registration.

The five new parties are, Young Progressive Party (YPP), Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA), New Generation Party of Nigeria (NGP), All Democratic Peoples Movement (ADPM) and Action Democratic Party (ADP).

Nigerian Tribune checks revealed that with the development, the number of registered political parties ahead of 2019 general elections has increased to 45.

Further checks revealed that Advanced Peoples Democratic Alliance (APDA), was the association which on Monday inaugurated its protem national officers in Abuja.  The Action Democratic Party (ADP) is the touted mega party which has been linked with certain chieftains of the ruling party, the All Progressives Congress.

The statement further said, “With the registration of the above parties, there are now 45 political parties in Nigeria.”

On the on-going nationwide Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) exercise, which began on 27th April 2017, the Commission noted that as of Friday 2nd June 2017, a total of 760,989 persons have registered across the country, made up of 59. 5 percent males and 40.5 percent females.

“So far, 31,808 persons have collected their PVCs while 34, 560 others applied for transfer of polling units.”

It however said, due to budgetary constraints, the Commission cannot for now decentralize to the Registration Area level. However, due considerations shall be given to certain areas with peculiar challenges.

“The Commission decided that, in view of the Anambra State governorship election scheduled for 17th November 2017, the CVR will be decentralized to the Registration Area (Ward) level from 10th to 16th August, 2017. The same consideration shall be given to Ekiti and Osun states which have governorship elections in 2018.”

About samba

Check Also

Day 50 medical trip: PDP seeks reports to disclose Buhari’s illness, bills

Today makes it 50 days since President Muhammadu Buhari left the country for the United …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *